Poetry: Silence Out Loud

Silence Out Loud

©Mimi Wolske, December 2013

All Rights Reserved

Image

birds flit around, land

I sketch.. your words

become absorbed

in the dance

of your hands

fickle time and stories

bringing you

taking you

familiar chords

ripping through me

with each stroke

coaxing me

with each whisper

yellow

mustard on asparagus

on your shirt

rubbed into mine

laughing, playing

like teenagers

on a second date

at the cabin

in the spring

home with me

in the fall

motel rooms

across California

Arizona

New Mexico

Texas

setting up the movies

setting up your moves

the sound of

silence

in the air

moans sighs and cries

on the bed

flitting birds

sleeping

you

keeping me awake

coming up for air

the sound of your

breathing

in the back of my hair

 

I’d hang upside down for you

Leave a Reply

