Poetry: Let’s Go Anywhere

Let’s Go Anywhere

©Mimi Wolske, December 2013

All Right Reserved

Image

twisted the cool air

out of my curly hair

that morning on the bridge

over the Rio Grande

your camera given to

the others who would

snap a single shot

us together under

the sign

proof

we were there

other souvenirs

silver bracelet from you

a handmade sand tile

a complete pine cone

stand as totems

around me

day to day

proof

we were there

silenced

idle in a corner

set there

but your cannot

change

the storyline

with yesterdays

and tomorrows

no one puts baby

in the corner

a book shamelessly bleeds

on the car CD player

as we cross the

Continental Divide

green glow

from the dash

bathes us

invites us

to stop

settled beside me

tucking wisps of my hair

behind my ear

turned upside down

held and loved

my face reddens

panting for air

something to drink

common ground found

in our blood

in our sound

I wake to open windows

unfamiliar blinds

humming air conditioner

and I know we did

something right

again

 

(what if I tell?)

 

 

Leave a Reply

