POETRY: I WAS ON MY HORSE HEADED HOME

I Was On My Horse Headed Home

©May 2013, Mimi Wolske

All Rights Reserved

 Image

From the moment I first knew you

Everybody said you weren’t worth it

You weren’t worth it, yeah, I knew that

From the moment I first talked to you

Everybody said you would hurt me

And I looked at them and I said

I learned my lesson once before

See, I imagined a different ride, yeah

But your jeans were too tight for that

And once again, baby, I was alone

I was on my horse headed home

Once again, my baby, I was alone

Exchanging apologies more than once

I kept asking myself is this worth it

Yes, he’s worth it, and I’m worth it

Sure, I was unable to change you

I couldn’t change you; we’ were too late for that,

But you were the best thing that happened to me

I was wise with no more lessons to learn

So, when your fooling just kept on

I held on, I tried and I held on

Once again, my baby, I was alone

I was on my horse and riding home

And once again, sweet darling, I was alone

I’d read all your messages on my phone

Was I a fool to think I could change you

Are we such fools, such foolish fools

To think that either of us could be different

What I would’ve given, what I would’ve given

To change you, would you change me too

Once again, oh, baby, I was left alone

And on my horse riding home

I was headed for home, heading home

Praying that you will still be there

I need you to be there, I need you, need you

Will you be waiting after all this time

So never again, babe, will I be alone

And every night we’ll share sweet dreams

Leave a Reply

